Tina’s “Lollipops” quilt


I am a better quilter because of some of the talented ladies I hang with! One of those many gifted ladies is Tina. She has some serious skills! I interviewed Tina about a year ago wanting to take my blog in a different direction. Not just show people what I am doing all the time. Boring! Thought it would be fun to showcase some of my friends’ work. Loretta … are you listening? Hopefully, you are next on my list!

Unfortunately, cancer became a hot topic at our house and Tina’s interview notes got buried. I found them the other day … so here goes!

Tina has been quilting since 1999. So you don’t have to get your calculator out … that is 18 years! She told me that her grandma quilted. If any of you happen to be about our age, and quilters, you might remember back when Alex Anderson had a television show. It was awesome! Two ladies that give Alex Anderson lots of credit when it came to getting them seriously hooked on quilting … was Tina … and me! I’m certain there are thousands of others. So after that, Tina purchased one of Alex’s quilt books. Then she took a quilting class. The rest is history!

Tina has been a member of the Kingwood Quilt Guild for over ten years and has taken lots of classes through the guild. She joined a quilt bee a bunch of years ago also which is where I met Tina.

The “Lollipops” quilt is from a Laundry Basket Quilts pattern from 2008 and finished measures 40″ by 40″. Tina told me when she saw the pattern it made her smile. That is totally what happens to me too! The fabric for the quilt came from her fabric stash. Don’t you LOVE her color choices. Thanks Tina for sharing your story with me! You are my quilt hero!

Leave a Reply

