2015 International Quilt Festival


I attended Preview Night last night at the International Quilt Festival in Houston. I’ve been going for decades and this year was absolutely the best! It is so fun to go and shop and fall in love with the new quilt trends. But to do it with your great friends was the buttercream icing on the cake! Loretta and Toni moved away some time back and came to Houston to join Tina and Gwenn and me for an epic adventure.

If you have never been … let’s just say it is five days … 60,000 people from all over the world celebrating quilting. There are classes, quilt exhibits, demos, lectures, tons of shopping (1,100 booths) and more eye candy quilts that you have ever seen under one roof! I really should have taken more photographs but I was concentrating on those future potential projects to purchase.

Trends I noticed … lots of primitive quilts, modern, and so much more! I snagged Edyta Sitar’s “Elephants” quilt pattern and stencil (awesome design), a pillow kit for Fall, a cowboy boot quilt kit, and the most important was a chunk of Minion fabric for my grandson’s Jake’s future I Spy quilt.

The International Quilt Festival ends on Sunday, November 1, so get your walking shoes on and head on down to the George R. Brown Convention Center.

3 thoughts on “2015 International Quilt Festival

Leave a Reply

