Poinsettias for a good cause


I’ve been in the Christmas spirit for nearly a week. So if you catch me humming a little Christmas tune in the grocery store … just pinch me and I promise to stop. Just finished putting the finishing touches on our home for Christmas. No presents under the tree yet. UPS and FedEx are busy assisting with that project.

The last decorating issue was the purchase of several lovely poinsettias. I bought them the other day at the Brookwood Store in Old Town Spring. The shop is open year-round, but really sparkles this time of year. They sell flowers, plants, garden statues and lots of interesting handcrafted gifts. Did I mention the poinsettias come in several different “flavors” with names like Red Glitter, Ice Crystal Pink, good old dependable red, pink, white and sometimes even exotic poinsettias called Monet and da Vinci? What I wouldn’t give to be a lady bug on the glass ceiling of their greenhouses!

Brookwood (www.brookwoodcommunity.org) also has lovely retail stores located in Brookshire, Houston, Spring, and Katy all benefitting adults with special needs. It’s an organization with a mission near and dear to my heart. They have a residential facility and vocational program located 40 miles west of Houston. I used to dream that it would be a place our Mimi would someday thrive when hubby and I were too old and crackled to care for her. That special place has yet to be revealed.

So for now … we joyfully wait … for the reason for the season!

Leave a Reply

