Taking your breath away


“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the number of moments that take our breath away.”

It’s my daughter’s favorite quote on her Facebook page. Katie and her husband are currently on a European trip to London and Paris with a stop in Bruges, Belgium. Katie is the one that vaccinated our family with the travel bug some years ago when she studied abroad in Italy.

After her summer semester in 2000, I met Katie in Milan. Just the two of us then traveled to Venice, Florence and finished in Rome. The moment that most took my breath away on that trip was in Rome. I remember stepping through the Holy Doors of St. Peter’s and looking up. It was also the moment I spontaneously burst into tears. Yep, I melted into a little puddle right there on the floor of St. Peter’s. It took a Vatican custodian with a large mop and bucket a few minutes to clean up the mess my tears left behind.

You can see photographs of a place all your life but nothing prepares a person to step into that scene yourself. I highly recommend taking a large box of tissues if you are planning a visit to St. Peter’s.

Katie’s recent picture of the Eiffel Tower reminded me of my own recent breathtaking moments last year. There were many … the Eiffel Tower all lit up, Mass in Notre Dame, Sainte Chapelle’s stained-glass windows, Mona Lisa in the Louve (who knew she was so small), Sacre Coeur Basilica and I’m just getting started! Rick and I were there to celebrate forty years of marriage. It was amazing Paris … as in France … not Las Vegas.

Talk about a city that leaves a person breathless! Seriously, there should have been an oxygen tank on every downtown corner.

I can’t wait till Katie and Chad get back home on Easter. I want to hear about all the places that took THEIR breath away!

3 thoughts on “Taking your breath away

Leave a Reply

